Becoming the Hero to Your Life

Some of you may know, in my real life, I work with families as their advisor concerning their financial lives.  I also consult businesses concerning their retirement plans.

Every once in a while, someone gets the wild idea to let me speak in public.  This morning was one of those days.  I spoke to a group of professionals.  Despite the rumors, all survived.

Enjoy.

“Myths are public dreams, dreams are private myths.Joseph Campbell

You are the hero to your own journey.  Most of us don’t really think of life this way but you are.  So gather round the fire and let us tell the tales of giants, and gods, and, of course, you.  Where shall we begin?  Oh, yes, your birth.

Your birth is a wondrous night on this earth.  It seems that the sun and the moon align just perfectly.  Before we know it, you are here.  The night is to be marked by your cry into the air.  A calling, of sorts, that announces your arrival to the earth.

As a young person, you know there is something special about you.  You have visions. Well, maybe you call them daydreams, about the destiny that awaits you.  And you are listening, too.  You add a little to this part of the dream and take away a little of the parts you do not like or change.  You are actively participating in the magical journey of life. 

You recognize, early, the need to master certain skills.  You seek knowledge of the ancients.  And, so, the training begins.  Your early masters teach you skills you need to take on this journey.  It isn’t always easy.  You sweat a lot.  You are tested.  Well, by tests, we are still in a controlled environment.  I don’t think you can really be hurt.

You make friends.  You make enemies.  You face demons.  You face dragons.  And you survive.

Some of us create partnerships to carry out our quest or find “true love.  Is she Cinderella?  Is he Prince Valiant?  Are there youngsters, too? It begins to be so hard to see from these angles and the mists…  The mists create confusion and block clarity  about these things. 

Do you feel the boat rocking?  Or are we on your steed?  We do seem to be moving.  So, what will we find ahead, our prize?  Why are we on this adventure?   I seem to have forgotten.  Can you remind me?  Do you remember?

I do hope you remember.  This is your journey after all and you have such big plans.  Or, at least you did when we started.  You were so deliberate and the captain of your fate.

May I suggest something? Let us stop and camp for the evening.  Over our feast we shall talk and remember the beginning.  We shall recall the changes along the way, morn our losses, and celebrate our victories.  We should probably bring out the map.  Go on.  Lay it down right there and open it all the way.  Can you locate our position?  Where are we?  Oh, yes, here we are.  I thought we would be here.  Oh, well, at least we know our position.  Let us find our destination.  Where are we going, again?  It used to be right over…  Hmmmm.  This is where we are going, right?  It is?  Let’s take this route.  It seems an easier path than the others and will get us there right on time.  I know.  I know.  Our plan isn’t perfect.  It may never be.  We can make adjustments along the way as our journey reveals itself.  Fair enough?

So, let us leave on the morrow.  Our adventure continues!

Someone once asked me what I do for my living?  I have always been reluctant to really say that I slay dragons.  I don’t know why.  My clients’, I mean, my Captains’ stories sound like fantastic yarns, don’t they?  Your stories sound imaginary?  Well, it is your epic tale, isn’t it? 

Want to know how to help me?

I am currently seeking adventurers.  Heroes that know everything they want and wanderers that wish to refocus their mission.  I seek successful entrepreneurs and romantic dreamers.  Visionaries that define our generation or wannabe mad scientists…  All are welcome.  Meet me at the docks by the largest ship.  We have a life to live and a journey to continue.

It is so easy to look at the humdrum of life and to put off decisions that should be made.  Sometimes all it takes is a little effort to talk with someone.  I would love to be that someone.  I love to help individuals refocus, to help follow the dream of college or a secure retirement.  Thank you for listening these minutes to my tale—it is not a fairy tale.  It applies to each of our lives. 

Whatever our journey holds, I do hope we defy the common.  

About Christopher Hessenflow

Christopher Hessenflow is a financial planner in the Chicago area. He works with all sorts of people who are much more interesting than he is. He enjoys his career which lends him time to think and, sometimes, be creative. Chip was born bald.
This entry was posted in Investments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

