On Speaking, Deliberately

“I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately, I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, To put to rout all that was not life and not when I had come to die Discover that I had not lived.”Henry David Thoreau

I spoke with an alumni association last Saturday.  Our topic was personal financial planning which is something I am well versed to handle.  The group had great questions and I felt I handled the questions appropriately.

Our audience was quite international and many individuals had questions about bonds and, in particular, about European bonds.  I went on to explain why the portfolios we implement  hold United States Treasuries, why we use Treasuries, some of the challenges we are watching with the downgrade last year, and how this impacts all other corporate and other governments’ bonds.

We spent a significant time talking about student loans and debt management.

I placed the quote above because I did not use the quote during our time together.  Instead, I used a quote from one of my favorite economists.  As we talked and in the back of my mind, I kept thinking Thoreau’s words would work better than the quote I picked.  It really expressed the message I hoped to deliver and the idea is much better than the one I picked.

Our planning process is very deliberate.  It challenges our participants the stretch themselves to acknowledge they have one opportunity to walk the earth.  To experience freedom, we must determine what we value, use our minds to envision our paths, and our bodies to take control of what we can control.  As we experience our journey and successes, we truly experience the happiness we desire.

So simple is our message.  True liberty is our answer.  Why anchor our message to a bunch of drivel about stocks, bonds, and things we cannot control?

About Christopher Hessenflow

Christopher Hessenflow is a financial planner in the Chicago area. He works with all sorts of people who are much more interesting than he is. He enjoys his career which lends him time to think and, sometimes, be creative. Chip was born bald.
This entry was posted in Investments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

